Principal Officers

The Joint Universities Preliminary Examinations Board (JUPEB) is governed by the principal officers below:

Professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe

Professor Oluwatoyin Temitayo Ogundipe, Ph.D; MBA, FLS, FRSB, FAS. is the current Chairman of the Governing Board of JUPEB and also the current Vice-Chancellor of the University of Lagos (UNILAG).

He is a Professor in the Department of Botany and also the Director of Academic Planning at the University of Lagos. He is a Life member of the International Society of Plant Morphologist, a Fellow of Cohort 9 of the Leadership for Environment and Development, and the Linnaean Society, London.

He was an Adjunct Professor to the Department of Biology, Central Michigan University, Michigan. Between 2004 and 2006, he enjoyed Royal Society of London, Lennoix-Boyd Memorial Trust and Bentham-Moxon Trust sponsorship to Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, U.K.

Professor Solomon Wale Okunuga

Solomon Adewale Okunuga, a Professor of Mathematics of the University of Lagos is the second and current Registrar and Chief Executive Officer of Joint Universities Preliminary Examinations Board (JUPEB).

Wale Okunuga was born in Lagos on August 16, over 50 years ago. He attended St John’s School, Aroloya, Lagos and The Apostolic Church Grammar School, Orishigun, Ketu, Lagos for primary and secondary schools’ education respectively. He obtained a Grade 1 division from WASCE in 1978 with distinction in Mathematics, Additional Mathematics and Statistics.

Wale Okunuga gained admission into University of Ilorin in 1978 to study Mathematics and graduated with a First Class Honours in Mathematics in 1982. He was the best graduating students in his set and won several prizes at graduation. He was a recipient of Mobil scholarship for undergraduate studies and Federal Government scholarship for his master’s degree programme. He obtained a Master degree in Mathematics from the same University of Ilorin in 1984, and a Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Computational Mathematics in 1992 from University of Lagos.

Professor Okunuga joined the services of the Lagos State University in 1984 as a pioneer staff of the Department of Physical and Mathematical Sciences as an Assistant lecturer. He transferred from Lagos State University (LASU) to University of Lagos in 1999 as Lecturer I and rose through the rank to become a full Professor of Mathematics in 2011.

He has published over 50 academic papers in the area of Numerical Analysis & Computational Mathematics in both National and International Journals. He has presented several academic papers in both local and international conferences. He is the author of 5 Mathematics textbooks including: Introduction to Calculus, Mathematical Methods, Differential Equations, Computational Mathematics (jointly authored with M. A. Akanbi), and Basic Statistics. He also jointly authored with A. B. Sofoluwe in three other books: Introduction to Numerical methods for Science and Engineering, Numerical methods for Science and Engineering, and Further Numerical methods for Science and Engineering.

Professor Okunuga has supervised many undergraduate projects and over fifty Master degree dissertations. He has successfully supervised six Doctoral theses. He has also served as External Examiner to many institutions some of which, but not limited to these, are University of Ibadan, University of Ilorin, Federal University of Technology, Akure, University of Benin, Covenant University, Ota, Lagos State University and Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma.

Solomon Wale Okunuga has acquired various degrees of Administrative experiences over the years in his career. While in LASU, he served as Co-ordinator for Mathematics, Pre-Degree Science Programme (1984 – 1987), Head of Unit (Mathematics) (1985 – 1986, 1991 – 1997), Science Co-ordinator for Sandwich Degree Programmes (1995 – 1999). On joining the University of Lagos, he has also served as Chairman of Committee on Establishment of Industrial Mathematics, Faculty of Science Examination Officer, Chairman Departmental Postgraduate Programmes (2006- 2010), Member of University Senate, Chairman of Business Committee of Senate, Deputy Director, Academic Planning (2010 – 2012), Secretary to the University Strategic Planning Committee (2010-2011), Director, Quality Assurance and SERVICOM Unit (2012 – 2016), and Director Academic Planning Unit (2016-2019).